June 19, 1775 – George Washington is Commissioned by Continental Congress as Commander in Chief of the Continental Army

On June 15, 1775, the Continental Congress resolved:

That a General be appointed to command all the continental forces, raised, or to be raised, for the defence of American liberty.
That five hundred dollars, per month, be allowed for his pay and expences.
The Congress then proceeded to the choice of a general, by ballot, when George Washington, Esq. was unanimously elected.”

General George Washington

The next day, June 16, Washington rose to address the Congress, with the first of his many disclaimers, “just in case…”:

Tho’ I am truly sensible of the high Honour done me, in this Appointment, yet I feel great distress, from a consciousness that my abilities and military experience may not be equal to the extensive and important Trust: However, as the Congress desire it, I will enter upon the momentous duty, and exert every power I possess in their service, and for support of the glorious cause. I beg they will accept my most cordial thanks for this distinguished testimony of their approbation.

But, lest some unlucky event should happen, unfavourable to my reputation, I beg it may be remembered, by every Gentleman in the room, that I, this day, declare with the utmost sincerity, I do not think myself equal to the Command I am honored with.

As to pay, Sir, I beg leave to assure the Congress, that, as no pecuniary consideration could have tempted me to have accepted this arduous employment, at the expence of my domestic ease and happiness, I do not wish to make any proffit from it. I will keep an exact Account of my expences. Those, I doubt not, they will discharge, and that is all I desire.”

On Saturday, June 17, the Congress drafted Washington’s commission.

Washington’s commission, via Mount Vernon website

On June 18, Washington set a letter from Philadelphia to his wife Martha writing,

My Dearest, I am now set down to write to you on a subject which fills me with inexpressible concern–and this concern is greatly aggravated and Increased when I reflect upon the uneasiness I know it will give you. It has been determined in Congress, that the whole army raised for the defence of the American Cause shall be put under my care, and that it is necessary for me to proceed immediately to Boston to take upon me the Command of it. You may believe me my dear Patsy, when I assure you in the most solemn manner, that, so far from seeking this appointment, I have used every endeavor in my power to avoid it, not only from my unwillingness to part with you and the Family, but from a consciousness of its being a trust too great for my capacity and that I should enjoy more real happiness and felicity in one month with you, at home, that I have the most distant prospect of reaping abroad, if my stay were to be seven times seven years. But as it has been a kind of destiny, that has thrown me upon this service, I shall hope that my undertaking of it is designed to answer some good purpose.”

On the following Monday, June 19, Congress resolved that the commission of Washington, along with four Major Generals (Artemus Ward, Charles Lee, Philip Schuyler, and Israel Putnam), be printed and engrossed.

Currier & Ives print via Mount Vernon website

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.