October 23, 1789 – First Lady Martha Washington Complains About Restrictions Upon Her

In 2013, Michelle Obama and Laura Bush, at a First Ladies Summit in Africa, joked about the White House being like a prison, albeit a nice one. Similarly, in 2018, France’s first lady Brigitte Macron said Melania Trump felt very constrained and didn’t even feel free to go outside due to her role in Washington. 

Melania Trump and Brigitte Macron

They aren’t the first to feel that way. In fact, the very first “First Lady,” Martha Washington, also felt frustrated by her new role in the public eye. In a letter to her niece Fanny Bassett on this day in history, she wrote:

I live a very dull life hear and know nothing that passes in the town – I never goe to the publick place – indeed I think I am more like a state prisoner than anything else, there is certain bounds set for me which I must not depart from – and as I can not doe as I like I am obstinate and stay at home a great deal -“

You can read her entire letter here.

Martha Washington

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.