June 14, 1966 – Pope Paul VI Formally Abolishes the List of Prohibited Books

The Index Librorum Prohibitorum (English: List of Prohibited Books) was a list of publications deemed heretical, anti-clerical or lascivious, and therefore banned by the Catholic Church.


The first version was promulgated by Pope Paul IV in 1559, but lasted less than a year, because criticism of some aspects prevented its acceptance. It was replaced by what was called the Tridentine Index (because authorized at the Council of Trent).

The 20th and final edition appeared in 1948, and the Index was formally abolished on this day in history by Pope Paul VI.

Authors whose works appeared on the list included both those who were burned at the stake for their writings, and those who were later beatified by the Catholic Church.

You can search or browse the list of all books that were included over the years on the list here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: