DNF (Did Not Finish) -“George Washington’s Secret Six” by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaeger

I only made it through Chapter Four of this book. It was so full of hyperbole, misrepresentations, and downright inaccuracies that I was too infuriated to continue.

George-Washingtons-Secret-Six-The-Spy-Ring-That-Saved-the-American-Revolution-CD-Audio-L9781611762273

In my opinion, those who purport to convey “history” have a sacred trust, and I cannot understand why publishers let this kind of humbug see print.

Thus, this book became a “DNF” for me. (I started to keep a list of the passages in which the truth was distorted, misinterpreted, or just omitted, but after five pages of notes, I had had enough.)

I listened to the audio version of this book, read by Brian Kilmeade, who sounded as if he were enthusiastically reading fairy tales to kids. And maybe that was appropriate….

Evaluation: Maybe if you don’t know much early American history, you won’t even know that the information presented as fact is so inaccurate and objectionable. (It should be noted that the contortion of facts is all in the service of glorifying the revolutionaries.) But I respect history, and I feel strongly about abusing it. I was outraged over this book.

Rating: 0.5/5

Published unabridged on 5 compact discs (6 listening hours) by Penguin Audio, a member of Penguin Group (USA), 2013

Leave a Reply

